Designer Obsession: Jean Charles de Castelbajac

Beyone in Telephone Wearing Jean Charles de Castelbajac

I know I’m not the only one, but while watching Lady Gaga’s new “Telephone” video I couldn’t even pay attention to what was going on in the video; I was way too entranced by the wardrobe.
With a little research I found that almost everything fun colored, and embellished was designed by Moroccan designer Jean Charles de Castalbajac. His style may look familiar, as he’s been worn by MIA and Madonna as well. He makes tunic/tees with all our favorite icons on them; I’ve seen Jimi Hendrix, Pikachu, Andy Warhol, and, just released this month, a Michael Jackson homage dress.
His website is insanely bright and seasonally themed; it’s making me oh so excited for summer. He has videos where he talks about his inspiration (Punkahontas and The Ducks, Pirates! Parrots! and Paradise, Pop-ola, etc.) Jean Charles’ site is full of random cartoon character appearances from Mickey Mouse’s back side to Miss Piggy and Kermit. He’s an out of the box designer and I’m fully in love. The site is way too big to explain so, please, go check it out for yourself: http://www.jc-de-castelbajac.com/

Some stills and personal favorites from his past lines:

How fricken cute is the skeletal sequin dress?

Now, his spring/summer line for 2010 is right up my current style alley: Nautical, funky, and spunky! I’ve been gathering pieces for a nautical themed photoshoot with the fabulous Manny Hui and am planning a piece for it, but here’s a peak at all the nautical-ness to come.

Spring/Summer 2010

mmm. more eye patches and doc martens ❤
As for prices, JC ranges in the hundreds…but we can lust, can’t we!?

One response to “Designer Obsession: Jean Charles de Castelbajac

  1. I thought i was the only one who LOVED that jacket! Hot hot hot! thank you for educating us on the background of who this designer is! i love his stuff. I should start saving up my $….

Leave a Reply

