How I Survived Hurricane Irene:

Also, I’ve been MIA. With the roommate gone I have no one to randomly help me take outfit pictures! I’m also in the midst of figuring out my life, as it was just all ripped out from underneath me. Oh, and just a warning, due to my inability to deal with the happennings I’ve dyed my hair a beautiful auburn meets blue. Note the image(s) below.

But alas, on top of all that was the hurricane that ripped apart the entire east coast.I sincerely hope all of my east coast followers are doing well and have come through unscathed. Here is how I survived:

FRIDAY:

Hectically prepare and shop for provisions: D batteries, flashlights, non-perishable foods (chips! doritos! soda!), and anything else we may need. I’m staying with my friend, Mahsa, who has become a nervous wreck and had to be talked out of buying us tickets to Montreal.

Once unpacked all our groceries, it’s on to our last night out in what we prepare to be a week or so. After dinner at my favorite LES french bistro, Sebastian, it’s on to my friend’s bar, Lolita, for drinks where we meet up with two other friends, and then somehow manage to decide it’s the end of the world and I needed a nose piercing…

A hookah bar was where we finished off the night, along with dancing to bollywood type music, wine, and delicious pitas and dip.

SATURDAY:

We prepare for the storm by cooking up pastas in case we lose power for days. Watch TV, watch the rain, paint our nails…watch SO MUCH NEWS waiting for our impending doom. We eat, ALOT. Mahsa made delicous eggs with toast, cheese, and avocado. With wine, ofcourse, because you can’t survive a natural disaster without a little booze.

Mahsa and I rarely sleep Saturday night, waking up every few hours to make sure we are alive and her apartment is still in tact.

SUNDAY:

We watch more news. by 2pm the worst is over, the streets are calm.

We venture out to inspect the damage…and ponder our luck over margaritas at Dos Caminos.

Anyway, I wouldn’t say they Hurricane was over hyped. I saw the damage it did to other areas, including taking out power and tree’s near my parent’s in MA for DAYS (as of 8.31.11 they still do not have power).

As stated, I hope everyone is safe as can be!

23 responses to “How I Survived Hurricane Irene:

  1. Wowww amazing and very unusual pictures of NY !!!! Balthazar and bloomingdales are ready !

    Love your new hair color too πŸ™‚ !!!!!!!!!

    http://rocknrealprincess.blogspot.com/

  2. Love the piercing and the hair! Isn’t so relieving to just put your stress into a new hairstyle?

  3. Love the hair, looks rockin!
    Glad you survived πŸ™‚
    x

  4. Your hair is amazing with blue and léopard print ❀

    x0x0

  5. thrillofthechaise

    Yeah, we need to go to get margaritas πŸ™‚ I weathered the ‘hurricane’ here too…nice way to spend my first weekend in the big city, haha.

    Kate

    http://www.thrillofthechaise.com

  6. The blue hair looks awesome! & the food in your pics look so delicious πŸ™‚ xoxo!

  7. Glad your ok, I know what its like to live through natural disasters – if only we got time to prepare!! Oh and booze and natural disasters = win. Love the new piercing, I cant decide what I want to get pierced next such a hard choice!

  8. lol i spent my time sleeping! i slept through the entire “storm”!

  9. Love your blue hair, it looks great! Ohh, I’m hungry when I see all that food πŸ˜›

    http://www.galaxymess.blogspot.com

  10. cool photos esp of the storm aftermath lol

    xoxo Monroe

    Fashion Steele NYC

  11. great photos! i have new post in my blog! i follow your blog, follow me back!

    http://bybestyle.blogspot.com/

  12. YUM! avocado on toast. One of my faaaves!
    XXX

  13. OMG Musst haeve bin crazy out their!

Leave a Reply

