Designer Spotlight: Carl Hansen & Son

photo _MG_9697_zps46845703.jpg
One of the things I’ve absolutely loved about becoming a homeowner is the extra creative outlet. I sometimes swear I’ve developed adult ADD with how I always like to get my fingers wet in a bunch of projects, always looking for that next idea to follow through with and make something beautiful of. In buying our first home and having to move and decorate such a large space I’ve really fallen in love with (or rather rediscovered my love for) interior design.
On my last trip to NYC I stopped into the Carl Hansen & Son showroom in SoHo to get a taste for some classic and historic Scandinavian designs. While Z and I have always been partial to the eclectic modern styles, what I saw that day blew me away. Upon walking in, I was greeted with a wall of to-die-for smooth wishbone chairs in every color combination one could fathom, flanked around the room by ideal set ups of a cozy modern home. Most of the pieces are from the noggin of one Hans Wegner, a before-his-time genius designer. His attention to quality and detail has made his works some of the most coveted, and timeless, pieces in the world. From the backdrop of magazines to the swankiest doctors office lounges, there’s a decorative legend around us, if we’re lucky enough to have an eye for his style.
All pieces are imported from Denmark and while many are the direct designs from the late Wegner, there are a handful of designs inspired by him (like the leather day bed in the first image, by Ole Wanscher) or in collaboration with his namesake. Recently, Carl Hansen & Son celebrated Hans Wegner’s would-be 100th birthday, in which Paul Smith got involved, designing a new line of fabrics for pieces to come in, for a limited time.
 photo _MG_9692_zps1220c15a.jpg
 photo _MG_9705_zps863251b7.jpg
 photo _MG_9716_zpsa95d58fc.jpg
 photo _MG_9722_zpsd74be8f5.jpg
 photo _MG_9726_zps0fd2fa57.jpg
Now, these are all well and pretty, with buttery leather and those custom Paul Smith fabrics, but let’s bring it back down to reality. The price for pretty doesn’t come cheap, but if you can afford the price tag then I hope you go for Danish quality, or have the patience to wait until sample sales!
 photo _MG_9727_zpse90ab8f9.jpg

Leave a Reply

