Summer Reading with Annapolis Bookstore

 Ah, summer. As a kid it means no more school, no homework, trips to the park and beach, and a few books you need to read (but probably won’t) because you’re reading the latest and greatest sci-fi or young adult novel. As an adult, however, it means continuing your work schedule and if you’re lucky a trip or two to the beach.
I’m a lucky one, and every year in preparation for beach week I pick out a slew of books I want to read, easy reads that are more engrossing than my usual “read on the metro but can put down while at work” books.

I recently ventured to the acclaimed Annapolis Bookstore as recommended by my friend Natasha to stock up on my summer reads. After grabbing a coffee in their cafe we ventured to the garden with my pile to start fine tuning my list. While I’ve already started reading through my list I’m hoping we all can inspire each other to get through as many of these as we can! Because reading is still important, if not more so, than when it’s required of you.

1: The Martian by Andy Weir
THIS BOOK GUYS. If you haven’t read it or added it to your GoodReads list DO SO. It’s so good, about the last man on Mars struggling for survival on a daily basis; A not-so-distant future where Murphy’s Law isn’t just for those stranded on Earth. Bonus: the movie is coming out later this year and starring Matt Damon. Be prepared by having read the book first!

2: The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
I just finished this book last week, and it took me all of 5 days to read. Reminiscent of Gone Girl this story follows a seemingly spoiled rich girl in both past and present tense. I was reading it at the dinner table, sneaking a few pages in during my work day…

Yeah, it’s THAT good. No spoilers here, just do it!

3: Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
(and it’s sequel, The Mime Order) are the perfect read for anyone interested in sci-fi fantasy books. A young adult novel simlar to all other fantasmical reads follows the main character as her world gets turned upside down and she fights for her freedom. Great for the Harry Potter fans this book is all about merging the living with the dead in a menage of magical mystery.

4: The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins
If you were a fan of Gone Girl and the above The Good Girl, you’ll love this. Another captivating thriller of a strong but sometimes questionable heroine. It’s already a top hit for 2015 reads so basically…hop on the train and get reading! (lame puns, I know)

5: Paper Towns by John Green
Can we all just admit that we’re saps at heart? You cried reading/watching The Fault in Our Stars and it’s totally okay. In this alternate but equally moving book by the legendary YA novelist about young love (surprise) you get thrown back into the nostalgia of youth. BONUS: It’s coming out as a movie starring Cara Delevigne and is already getting a ton of buzz.

6: The Secret History by Donna Tartt
If you’re an avid reader you’ve probably already at least heard of Donna Tartt’s “Goldfinch”. This book boasts higher reviews and a more thought provoking story line. Set in my home locale of New England I can’t wait to get into this book !

7: Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
You may know Chimamanda by now for her work as a feminist and human rights activist, or maybe from her voice over on Beyonce’s “FLAWLESS”, but there’s more to her than just all that. This secondary novel hits home to all the humanitarian issues being discussed in politics and the world right now all while documenting a story of true love.

8: We Were Liars by E.Lockhart
This book has been on every single “best books” list I’ve seen of 2015 so far. A suspenseful novel about lifelong friends who turn from fun to destructive. And with it being on the road to becoming a summer classic I cannot wait to dive in!

9: Love and Miscommunication by Elyssa Friedland
In today’s day and age of oversharing, overtexting, and screens everywhere, this book chronicles one woman who decides to put it all down. What happens when you exit the internet aether and enter the real world? Read this and find out!

10: China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan
Crazy Rich Asians was a hit, and now Kevin Kwan is back with another novel of social climbing and debaucherous billionaires. Another book to tuck into your beach bag and read amidst sand and sun.

What do you think of these books? Have you read any of them so far? Will you be reading any so far? And any other suggestions!?

And if you love books, consider donating to keep the Annapolis Bookstore in business! They are losing out on business due to smartphones and kindles, and people “growing out of” reading. I am not one of those people, and I prefer hard copy books as opposed to another screen in my life. If you love books too, considering keeping one of the most beautiful bookstores in the world alive. And if you live in the area or visit this summer, be sure to check out the Annapolis Bookstore! They carry both new and rare print editions of books, including this adorable copy of Little Women that happened to make it home with me!

Don’t Forget to Follow Me!
On BlogLovin’ ///// On Twitter ///// On Facebook
On InstaGram ///// On Pinterest

8 responses to “Summer Reading with Annapolis Bookstore

  1. So many interesting books, I’d check if I can found even in Italian! 🙂
    xxx
    S
    http://s-fashion-avenue.blogspot.it

  2. great suggestions! will def pick one of these books up to read for the summer x

  3. thanks for sharing the great books!!
    Lovely photos~ xoxo

    http://www.sweetsimpleday.com

  4. Thank you for your suggestions dear! 🙂
    Have a nice weekend!

    http://www.luciagallegoblog.com

  5. OMG We need to definitely start a book club. I haven’t read ANY of these books. I need to get my “reading” act together.

    Let’s meet soon too! 🙂

  6. AH thanks so much for these suggestions!! DEFINITELY need to read The Good Girl.

  7. I wish I knew this existed when I was in Annapolis over the 4th of July weekend. AH I would totally go nuts in there. Thanks for the book recommendations. The only one on this list I’ve read is The Martian and I thought it was pretty good! Now I’m off to waitlist at the library. 🙂

Leave a Reply

