Nails of The Week: Blood Drip

Last fall I’d seen an image of “bloody” nails floating around Tumblr and had attempted to try it out on my own. This did not work out well for me to just go from image to attempt, no tutorial involved (note the image below).

Thankfully, I found an actual tutorial a few weeks ago hinting to use a bobbie pin or toothpick to help draw the blood (d’oh). With the help of So, Hi’s Tutorial my 2011 attempt was MUCH more successful.

I started by cleaning my nails, then applying this Sally Hansen “sheer vanilla” for three coats, and letting it dry completely. Then, I applied a layer of this deep red from Forever 21 to the tips of my nails.

Next, the drip part. I poured the slightest, dime sized dollop of the Forever 21 red onto paper. I then took my bobbie pin and drew drops of blood, starting farther and dragging towards the tip strip. I also added a few teardrop shaped droplets to really make it look dripping.

Let dry and voila! Much better than my previous attempt and super eerie for this late October week.

And keeping with the theme, enjoy this blood dripping photo of me shot in August by Darkside Images. It’s pretty much my current icon for everything šŸ™‚

28 responses to “Nails of The Week: Blood Drip

  1. love love love!
    I wish i could wear nail polish to work!!

  2. Awesome! I attempted blood drip nails and it looked awful. I like the idea of using a bobby pin. I was going to try blood splatter nails!

  3. OMG that looks perfect! Great idea!

  4. Love em!Very original!

  5. AHHHHHH Awesome tutorial, I’m a little freaked out.

    De,

    Fashion Nostalgia

  6. This tutorial is so awesome!!!

  7. the nails are perfect of Hallowen party

  8. obsesssedddd! i am seriously going to go try this RIGHT NOW!

    happy halloween,
    http://www.fluentbeauty.com

  9. Oh my!
    These are absolutely incredible

  10. I LOVVVVVEEEEEE your nails!!! They are so perfect. Just the right about of creepiness to it. But that last photo of you holy awesomeness yet horrifying. Def. could be an ad for a horror flick or one of those crazy editorial photos. Either way…fantastic.

  11. this is such a fantastic idea!! i love the look!

  12. Pingback: Nails Of The Week: Pastel Drips « EffortlessCool

  13. Pingback: Nails of the Week: Chanel Drip « EffortlessCool

  14. Pingback: Lessons on Blogging #3: Content Recycling | Que Sera Sahra

  15. Iā€™m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later.

    Many thanks

Leave a Reply

